The Marisa Giorgetti international prize intends to give visibility and value to the works and actions of many people in Italy, the EU or other areas of the world, which have remained little known, or even unknown, for reasons of privacy or due to geographical, political or social limitations but who have nevertheless produced works of literary distinction (in various forms, from novels to short stories and reportage) in the specific fields of migration and culture of dialogue, or who have worked in social and cultural sectors promoting fundamental human rights, especially the profound changes in society determined by destination society rather than origin society.

The award is divided into two different sections but strictly connected.

Section 1
An annual award given to an author or several authors for writing a novel, short story, poetry, reportage, investigation or other form of literature published in Italy that has, with literary distinction and depth, addressed issues related to migration and coexistence / meeting between languages, cultures and traditions, that has fostered a culture of dialogue and acceptance of diversity.

Section 2
Annual award given to a single person or a group of people, that is to say to an association or to an entity that has distinguished itself in the implementation of initiatives or programs, on the social, cultural or political level and have worked for the defense of fundamental human rights of individuals, groups and communities, with particular attention to the rights of the most vulnerable people and victims of violence, forced migration, persecution and serious exploitation, that have helped to consolidate the peace process and coexistence, that is to change cultural attitudes or discriminatory public policies and violations of human dignity.

the Jury

The members of the Jury for section 1 are:

Sergia Adamo, a professor at the University of Trieste

Goffredo Fofi, literary critic

Fabio Geda, writer

Michele Gangale, teacher

Luke Leone, essayist

Mihai Mircea Butcovan, writer

Sabrina Morena, theatrical director

Riccardo Noury, director of communications for Amnesty International, Italy section

Melita Richter, a professor at the University of Trieste

Igiaba Scego, writer

Pietro Spirito, journalist

Laila Waida, writer

The members of the Jury for the section 2 are:

Paolo Artini, head of UNHCR for the countries of Western Europe

Don Luigi Ciotti, founder of the Group Abel and of the association Libere

Nicoletta Dentico, president of the O. I.S.G. and director of Health Innovation in Practice

Tana De Zulueta, journalist

Don Pierluigi Di Piazza, founder of the center Ernesto Balducci

Fabrizio Gatti, journalist

Maria Silvia Olivieri, lawyer, service training of Sprar (Protection System for asylum seekers and refugees)

Isabelle Sanchez, psychologist, coordinator I.C.S.

Daniela Schifani-Corfini Luchetta, teacher, founder of Foundation Luchetta, Ota, D’Angelo, Hrovatin

Giulio Marcon, spokesman for the national campaign “Sbilanciamoci”

Livio Pepino, president of Gruppo Abele Editions

Andrea Segre, director

Chiara Sasso, writer, animator of Municipalities Solidarity Network

Lorenzo Trucco, lawyer, president ASGI (Association for Legal Studies on Immigration)
The choice of Trieste and the Carso as the seat of the Marisa Giorgetti international prize, as well as being linked to the fact that it was the area in which Marisa Giorgetti lived and conducted her activities , to whose memory is dedicated the prize, is also motivated by the symbolic value that the territory of Trieste represents on European and international level an area of ​​multicultural, multilingual and multi-hinge between eastern and western, and as a city on the Mediterranean Sea.

In order to achieve its aims, the prize does not operate as “competition” but as the identification of the persons to whom the Award is appointed by qualified members of the two juries on the basis of which each juror has matured in his daily life and work .

The Prize consists of a work of art painted by Carlo Fontana, a famous contemporary artist, in collaboration with the art magazine “Juliet Art Magazine”.
The first edition of the Prize will take place at the Theater Miela on the 12th March 2013 at 20.00 h, in the presence of the members of the Jury and people that will receive the prize.

The theatric company “Scenic Consortium” will present a play “built around” the two figures to whom the prize edition 2013 will go to.
On the same day of the ceremony, at 19.00 h, in the foyer of the Theater Miela will be open the exhibition of Iranian painter Banafsheh Rahmani.